Conversations

Lalitha Vish  |  Jellicles Farm  |  Sunol , CA

Subject: Central Valley Olive shake up..thoughts about future trends?

I have cut and pasted what came to me. Thoughts?

[..]My name is John Werner, and I am a small olive farmer in the Visalia area. I have packed my olives with Bell-Carter Olives since 2010. I grow manzanillo olives which are used to make black table olives. Maybe you have had them. If you have every bought Lindsay Olives (red label on the can) then you have likely eaten olives grown right here in the valley and packed by Bell-Carter. Maybe you have even eaten an olive I grew. Maybe your kids have stuck one of my olives on their fingers…like my kids do.

On evening of Monday, March 4th, I started getting some troubling phone calls and text messages. The first was from the labor contractor I use to prune olive trees in the spring and harvest in the fall. He asked me if I had heard anything about Bell-Carter canceling contracts to buy fruit from growers. He was actually in an olive orchard that day with a crew pruning when the grower came out said, "Stop work. We are done." The grower had just gone to get his mail and had a contact cancellation notice from Bell-Carter.

I was scheduled to start pruning my orchard within the next two weeks and my contractor was calling to find out if we would be cancelling the work. We have since cancelled our plans to prune.

The next thing I received was a text from my ag consultant. He was asking a similar question: had I heard and did I get a letter, too. Well I was starting to hear, but I didn't have a letter yet.